Rwandan franc (RWF) is the official currency of Rwanda since 24 April 1964 .It is divided into 100 centimeters for one.


The franc became the currency of Rwanda in 1916 when Belgium occupied the German colony and the Congolese franc became the currency of the Congo instead of the German rupee in East Africa . Rwanda and the Congo use the Belgian franc until 1960 Rwanda began issuing its own currency in 1964. There it was planned to introduce a single currency, the shilling in the East African economic bloc, the equivalent of the five members of the East African Community .