The Angolan War of Independence (1961-1975) began as a rebellion against the compulsory cotton harvest and then turned into a struggle in the Portuguese colony of Angola for about 11 separatist movements, the war ended when the Angolan government, the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA), the MPLA and the National Liberation Front Angola (FNLA) signed the agreement immediately after the leftist military strike in Lisbon, which expelled the regime of President Estado Novo in April 1974.