Antigua and Barbuda is a nation of archipelago located in the eastern Caribbean Sea bordering the Atlantic Ocean . As the name implies, this country consists of two main islands, Antigua and Barbuda, located in the middle of the Leeward Islands in Eastern Caribbean, approximately 17 degrees north of the equator . Antigua and Barbuda is part of the smaller Antilles archipelago in the south of the Guadeloupe archipelago, Montserrat in the southwest, St. Kitts and Nevis in the west, St. Barthelemy and St. Martin in the northwest. It has a population of 67,448.