West African Franc or West African CFA Franc ( French : Franc CFA (UEMOA ), ( ISO 4217 : XOF) is the currency of Benin , Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire , Guinea-Bissau , Mali, Niger and Senegal, ie members of the Economic Community of West African States . There is also a franc in Central Africa .

Although the West African CFA franc is equal to the Central African CFA franc, the West African CFA franc cannot be used in Central African countries and vice versa