Azerbaijan (Azərbaycan) or officially the Republic of Azerbaijan (Respublikası Azerbaijan Respublikasi) is one of six independent Turkish states in the Caucasus region of Eurasia . Located at the crossroads between Eastern Europe and Western Asia , it is bordered by the Caspian Sea to the east, Russia to the north , Georgia to the northwest, Armenia to the west and Iran to the south.

Nakhchivan is bordered by Armenia in the north, east and Iran to the south and west, while Turkey borders only a short border in the northwest. The traps are surrounded by Karaki , Yukhari Oskebara , Prokhodarli and Suvolo in Armenia, which has been controlled since the Nagorno-Karabakh war . The Armenian-majority Nagorno-Karabakh region in southwestern Azerbaijan declared itself independent from Azerbaijan in 1991, but this independence has not been diplomatically recognized by any state and is still deemed part of Azerbaijan de jure occupied by Armenian forces.  Azerbaijan has diplomatic relations with 158 countries to date and has membership in 38 international organizations. Observer of the Non-Aligned Movement , the World Trade Organization and an ITU correspondent. There are Azerbaijani communities in 42 countries  and there are dozens of ethnic minority centers within Azerbaijan including the German cultural community Karl House, the Slavic Cultural Center, the Azerbaijani-Israeli community, the Kurdish Cultural Center, the Talish International Association and the Samur National Center. Azerbaijani Tatar society, Crimean Tatar society, etc.). On May 9, 2006, Azerbaijan was elected to the newly established Human Rights Council by the UN General Assembly . The term of the Council began on 19 June 2006.