Euro , Euro or Euro (EUR, EUR) is the single currency of the European Union , which is the second most important currency in the international monetary system after the US dollar .is controlled by the European Central Bank at its headquarters in Frankfurt, Germany . Today, the euro is the official currency in 19 of the 28 EU countries. It is also the official currency in six other countries that are not members of the European Union.

Euro logo

Starting in 1999 , the euro began to be traded on the banking level. From January 1, 2002, the euro was replaced by the currencies of the countries that joined the euro implementation agreement and have since become their official currency. The euro is divided into 100 cents .

The euro achieved a standard exchange rate on July 15, 2008 to reach $ 1.5990. The lowest value traded against the US dollar reached the Euro on 26 October 2000 , which amounted to $ 0.8225.