The United Arab Republic is the official name of the unity between Egypt and Syria, which was the beginning of the unification of the Arab countries, which was one of the dreams of President Gamal Abdel Nasser. On February 22, 1958, the Unit announced the signing of the Charter of the United Republic by the Syrian Presidents Shukri Al-Quwatli and Gamal Abdel Nasser. Nasser was elected president and Cairo was the capital of the new republic. In 1960 the two parliaments of the two countries were united in the National Assembly in Cairo and the regional ministries were abolished in favor of a unified ministry in Cairo as well. The unit ended with a military coup in Damascus on 28 September 1961, Syria announced the establishment of the Syrian Arab Republic, while Egypt retained the name of the United Arab Republic until 1971 when it was renamed the Arab Republic of Egypt. Yemen was also influenced by this experience and decided in March of the same year to form a federation with the United Arab Republic, called the United Arab Emirates, which was based in the city of Hodeidah in Yemen. Yemen will retain its membership in the United Nations and its independent relations with other countries. In December 1960, the Union will be dissolved.