Kuwait University (KU)  was established in October 1966 under Act N. 29/1966 The university was officially inaugurated on 27 November 1966 to include the College of Science  the College of Arts, the College of Education and the College for Women  The university is the state’s first public institution of higher education and research 

The university aims to preserve and transmit knowledge through scholarship  and encourage innovation and development in the arts and the sciences  It comprises 17 colleges offering 76 undergraduate  71 graduate programs 

The university facilities are spread over six campuses, offering programs in the sciences, engineering, humanities, medical and social sciences. Students are awarded Bachelor, Master and Doctoral degrees