The Rwandan National Bank is the central bank of Rwanda . The bank was established in 1964  The current governor of the bank is John Rwangumbwa.The Bank's headquarters are located in the National Bank of Rwanda building, on KN6 Avenue in the central business district of Kigali, the capital and the largest city in Rwanda.The Bank is active in promoting financial inclusion policy and is a leading member of the Alliance for Financial Inclusion. It is also one of the 17 original regulatory institutions that make specific national commitments for financial inclusion under the Maya Declaration at the 2011 World Policy Forum in Mexico 

The stages of development of the Central Bank include the following:

The Royal Decree of 27 July 1887 provides that the franc shall be the account of the account of the independent State of the Congo, the Free Republic of the Congo, as well as Rwanda.

The Heligoland Agreement of 1890 places Rwanda and Burundi within Germany's sphere of influence in Africa. German rupee East Africa is the official currency, and the trading of the French franc was continuing.

As a result of Belgium's actions, the Belgian Congo became a member of the Latin Monetary Union in 1908.

The Belgian Bank of the Congo was established in 1909.

The Belgian Bank of Congo issued its first bank notes in 1912.

Rwanda and Burundi are attached to the Congo Congo region after Germany's defeat in World War I in 1927.

A new relationship between the Belgian colony of the Congo and the Bank of the Belgian Congo arose between 1927 and 1952.

Bank of the Republic of Burundi was opened in 1966.