Montenegro or Montenegro:  is a country located in southern Europe . One of the two countries was the Union of Serbia and Montenegro . On May 21, 2006 , a referendum on secession from Serbia was held.

It has an area of ​​about 13,812 km 2 and a population of about 650,000 people, with its capital Podgorica (formerly Titograd), and a population of 117,875 people.

Montenegro is one of the two republics of the New Yugoslavia , after independence from the former Yugoslav federation four of its six republics, between 1991 and 1992 , thus confining Yugoslavia to only two republics, Serbia and Montenegro. Montenegro's independence was proclaimed on June 3, 2006.